News Details
aQuest – the Ultimate Engineering Face-off
29 June 2015

The all-Indiastudent quiz competition, which engaged a large number of ISHRAE student chapters across India, was a part of the suite that comprised ACREX India 2015. And the trump card in this pack was the inimitable host Shahriyar Atai. Branded aQuest with the tagline ‘The ultimate engineering face-off ’, its preliminary rounds held by various ISHRAE chapters attracted entries from over 100 student chapters. The elimination round in Bangalore on February 27 resulted in six teams qualifying for the final round held the same afternoon. The final round had a compelling format that held the participants as well as the house-full audience spellbound for a full three hours. It alternated between serious quizzing, questions to the audience and pure entertainment. V. Krishnan, Gautham Baliga, Nitin Naik and Prashant Desai from ISHRAE planned and executed the event. A Facebook quiz contest was held on the sidelines of the main contest, with 150 questions fired at the rate of two per day. The winner of the Facebook contest, Nitin Patel from Ahmedabad Institute of Technology, was felicitated by Shoji Tsubokuta, MD of Hitachi India – the event partner. Nitin was also nominated on the panel of ‘Wise Guys’ – one of the lifelines available to the contestants. The other panel members were Steve Comstock (Director – Publications and Education, ASHRAE), Dr. Roshini Easow (Past President – Mumbai Chapter) and Sangeeta Jhangiani (HVAC Consultant). The team from Don Bosco Institute of Technology, Thane comprising Leslie Castellino and Erin Pereira walked away with the top honours, followed by the R. V. College of Engineering, Bangalore team of Aniruddha and Ayush. There was a tie for the third spot between K. P. R. Institute of Technology and Engineering, Coimbatore (Akhilesh and Ponchalkish) and Indian Institute of Engineering, Science & Technology, Shibpur, Howrah District (Shubham and Rahul). The tie-breaker saw the former inch ahead as the third prize winner. All the six teams were felicitated, the remaining two being from VJTI, Mumbai (Karthik Joshi and Ashish Singh) and Institute of Engineering & Technology – Devi Ahilya Vishvavidyalaya, Indore (Amaran and Surbhi Gupte). During the awards ceremony, Hitachi announced its intention to give interview opportunities to all the twelve finalists and to absorb at least six in the company. 

Disclaimer: The information provided within this publication / eBook/ content is for general informational purposes only. While we try to keep the information up-to-date and correct, there are no representations or warranties, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the information, products, services, or related graphics contained in this publication / eBook/ content for any purpose. Any use of this information is at your own risk.

K-43 (Basement) Kailash Colony , New Delhi - 110048, India Tel: (011) 41635655, 29234925